Boursier Senior

patrick_brennan2_0 (1)En 2014, Patrick Brenann a été nommé Directeur Exécutif de l’Institut pour l’étude du développement international à l’Université McGill et peu après, il a été nommé Boursier Senior par la Fondation. Patrick a notamment rencontré et conseillé des Boursiers Sauvé et – avec ses collègues Anita Nowak et Brett House – il a discuté de diversité et de mentorat dans le cadre de Sauvé Encore! 2015.

Avant son arrivée à McGill, Patrick a travaillé comme gestionnaire en relations multilatérales au sein de la direction des relations intergouvernementales et internationales du Ministère des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Pendant son mandat, M. Brennan a aidé le Canada dans ses démarches auprès de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones; il a initié de la recherche axée sur la programmation et les politiques touchant les peuples autochtones dans d’autres pays; il a soutenu les efforts du Canada avec le « Millennium Development Goals and post-2015 Development Agenda » et il a contribué à la Stratégie d’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques. De plus, Patrick a travaillé pour le Ministère du Patrimoine canadien sur différentes initiatives thématiques ciblées notamment sur le multiculturalisme, la mobilisation citoyenne, le service publique et l’avancement du développement des politiques au sein du ministère.

Avant son mandat avec le Ministère du Patrimoine canadien, il a œuvré au Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada dans le but d’appuyer les peuples autochtones à l’échelle internationale. Dans ce rôle, il a participé aux négociations de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, a organisé des missions commerciales pour que des entrepreneurs autochtones puissent se rendre à la Banque mondiale et à la Banque de développement interaméricaine, a établi des réseaux bilatérales et multilatérales pour promouvoir les droits des peuples autochtones, et a été un des membres fondateurs du premier Sommet autochtone pour les Amériques. Patrick a aussi travaillé comme directeur du programme haïtien aux Affaires étrangères et a contribué à la stratégie d’engagement canadienne en Haïti.

Patrick a aussi travaillé pour le Programme alimentaire mondial des Nations Unies et l’Agence canadienne de développement international. En tant qu’agent de programme avec le Programme alimentaire mondial, ses responsabilités incluaient l’implémentation de projets alimentaires dans des écoles et des centres de santé maternelle. Avec l’Agence canadienne de développement international, M. Brennan était conseiller pour les programmes de la division des Amériques, de la division de l’Afrique et de la division de la politique.

Patrick détient une maîtrise en relations internationales (Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Université Carleton, Ottawa) et un baccalauréat en arts de (Université Concordia, Montréal).

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir de l’information sur nos nouvelles et évènements!

Suivez-nous

Suivez-nous

  • Sauve Residents trying out snowshoeing for the first time with one of our first snows =) https://t.co/GrEl8UfQe6
  • Congratulations to Sauve Fellow Thinh Nguyen, who was selected as part of the 2020 cohort of Changemakers for Child…
  • The Foundation and friends were happy to support Stephen De Four Wyre, who was conducting an orchestra at Saint Joh…

Senior Fellow

patrick brennanPatrick Brennan joined McGill’s Institute for the Study of International Development as Executive Director in 2014 and began his collaboration with the Foundation soon thereafter as a Senior Fellow, holding office hours for Sauvé Fellows. Alongside Senior Fellows Anita Nowak and Brett House, Patrick led the discussion on Next generation impact through mentorship at Sauvé Encore! 2015.

Prior to coming to McGill, Patrick served as the Manager of Multilateral Relations in the Intergovernmental and International Relations Directorate of the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. During his time at the Department, Mr. Brennan assisted with Canada’s endorsement of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, initiated research for the examination of programming and policy approaches taken by other countries in the area of Aboriginal affairs, supported Canada’s work in the area of the Post 2015 Development Agenda, and contributed to Canada’s Strategy for Engagement in the Americas.

Patrick has also worked at the Department of Canadian Heritage on initiatives ranging from multiculturalism and citizen engagement to public service renewal and the establishment of a forum for the promotion and advancement of policy development within the department.

Prior to joining the Department of Canadian Heritage, he worked for six years at the Department of Foreign Affairs in support of international indigenous issues. In this role, he assisted with the negotiation of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous peoples, co-led trade missions for indigenous entrepreneurs to the World Bank and Inter-American Development Bank, established bilateral and multilateral networks for the promotion of indigenous rights, and was a lead member of the team responsible for the first Indigenous Summit of the Americas. Patrick was also the Deputy Director of the Haiti Program at Foreign Affairs and assisted in writing Canada’s bilateral strategy for engagement in the country.

Patrick has also worked at both the United Nations World Food Programme and at the Canadian International Development Agency. As a program officer with the World Food Programme, he was responsible for the implementation of nutrition projects at both schools and maternal health care centres. While the Canadian International Development Agency, Mr. Brennan worked as a consultant on policy and programming issues in the Americas Branch, the Africa Branch and the Policy Branch.

Mr. Brennan holds a Master of Arts in International Relations from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University in Ottawa and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University in Montreal.

Sign up to our mailing list to receive news and information about upcoming events

Follow us

b-instagram-180

Facebook

Follow Us

  • Previous Jeanne Sauvé Fellow & journalist Sadia bridges connection between refugees and Indigenous people
  • Good short read by our partner Kim Samuel: To reach peace, we must teach peace via @HuffPostRelig
  • This week, we are attending: Montreal, Ville des droits humains/Montreal Rights City. #rightscityMTLdroitshumains