« J’aime faire parti d’une communauté qui vise constamment à engendrer des changements significatifs à travers le monde.” – Boursier Sauvé

Participants

Du 9 au 16 mai 2015, la deuxième édition du programme Sauvé Encore! a rassemblé treize Boursiers de neuf cohortes différentes, originaires de onze pays différents. Tomer Avital (Israël, 2008-09), Manish Thapa (Népal, 2006-07), Saman Ahsan (Pakistan, 2003-04), Siddharth Bannerjee (Canada, 2007-08), Stéphanie Jensen-Cormier (Canada/France, 2011-12), Eloge Butera (Rwanda/Canada, 2009-10), Anupreeta Das (Inde, 2004-05), Guy Milongo Dipa (Congo, 2012-13), Pyone Thet Thet Kyaw (Myanmar, 2008-09), Tairah Firdous (Inde/Cachemire, 2012-13), Janet Jobson (Afrique du Sud, 2009-10), Paul Omonge (Kenya, 2011-12) et Yaniv Rivlin (Israël, 2009-10) ont activement participé à une semaine bien remplie avec le but d’amplifier leur impact, leurs compétences en leadership et leurs relations avec la communauté. Pour ce faire, l’horaire à mis l’accent sur des sessions de partage, des rencontres de leadership, des tables rondes, des ateliers et des conversations guidées.

Grandes réussites

  • Les Boursiers ont apprécié le temps et l’espace pour être ensemble;
  • Il y a eu un bon équilibre entre les activités divertissantes, les sessions de réflexion et les ateliers;
  • Les Boursier ont beaucoup appris des sessions dirigées par leurs pairs, ce qui a permis à amplement d’interactions entre les participants.

Pour voir Sauvé Encore! en pleine action, découvrez nos albums Flickr.

Programme

Sessions de partage : Les participants et participantes ont illustré leurs parcours – avant et après le programme Sauvé – avec l’aide d’un exercice visuel. Chad Lubelsky de La Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell a guidé l’atelier, où les participants et participantes ont partagé leurs compétences, talents et visions du monde pour devenir des individus plus avertis et promouvoir le soutien et la collaboration.

Rencontres de leadership: Les rencontres de leadership ont permis aux Boursiers d’en apprendre plus sur les différents types de leadership et de réfléchir sur leur propre expérience en tant que leader. Les Boursiers ont eu deux rencontres de leadership:

  • Brett House, Désirée McGraw et Anita Nowak ont exploré le mentorat et ces différentes pratiques culturelles.
  • L’Honorable Jean Charest a fait une réflexion sur les obstacles et les réussites qui ont définis son parcours en tant que leader public. Il a encouragé les Boursiers à tenir compte de l’équilibre vie professionnelle/vie personnelle et d’apprécier la valeur de l’égalité entre les sexes dans la sphère du leadership public.

Tables rondes :

  • Promouvoir la diversité culturelle par le leadership public : (Table ronde modérée par Sidd Bannerjee, avec Nadia Dugay, Pearl Eliadis, Alexandre Trudeau, et Vivianne Ducheine de la Direction de la diversité sociale de la Ville de Montréal): En s’inpirant du nouveau Programme de leadership public et du thème choisi par la Fondation – le leadership public pour des sociétés culturellement diversifiées – les invité(e)s ont discuté d’approches différentes pour mieux comprendre et dépeindre la diversité culturelle.
  • L’état du monde aujourd’hui : Le rôle du Canada demain (avec l’invité d’honneur Robert Greenhill et les Boursiers Sauvé Éloge Butera, Saman Ahsan, Sidd Bannerjee et Stéphanie Jensen-Cormier): Cette table ronde a fait le point sur les questions clés, les tendances, les risques ainsi que les opportunités auxquels le monde est confronté et pourquoi le Canada devrait y porter attention.
  • Être un leader visionnaire (avec les invités Antonia Maioni, Tom Axworthy, Liane Benoit et les Boursiers Sauvé Jonathan Sas et Pyone Kyaw): Au cours de cette session interactive, les Boursiers ont réfléchi sur les grandes directrices de leur travail et sur comment changer le monde avec des idées audacieuses.

Conversations guidées :

  • La crise au Népal et le secours humanitaire : Manish a partagé son expérience avec le récent tremblement de terre au Népal. Tairah, qui a été impliqué dans les efforts de secours humanitaire avec Oxfam India, a aussi partagé ses observations. La conversation a mis l’accent sur les obstacles reliés aux crises humanitaires et aux dynamiques d’aide internationale.
  • L’engagement des jeunes : Apportant avec eux des perspectives de différents pays et régions, Janet, Paul, Gioel et Désirée McGraw ont dirigé une conversation sur l’engagement des jeunes. Les Boursiers ont discuté des différentes expériences régionales, tout en soulignant l’importance d’intégrer les jeunes dans la sphère de leadership public.
  • Groupes de développement en leadership : Tout au long de la semaine, les Boursiers ont fait parti de deux groupes de développement en leadership. Ces groupes ont pris part à une série d’activités guidées dans le but de partager les hauts et les bas de leurs parcours en leadership. Les groupes de développement ont été conçus pour créer un espace sûr pour la réflexion et pour saisir la vision globale qui inspire le travail de chaque Boursier.

Les ateliers dirigés par les Boursiers incluaient le partage de compétences et de connaissances pratiques, rendu possible dans un environnement informel et intime.

  • L’approche narrative avec Tairah : Les Boursiers ont réfléchi sur le pouvoir de l’approche narrative – utiliser plusieurs voix pour raconter une histoire – et l’a mise en pratique en racontant leurs propres histoires personnelles pour rejoindre différents publics.
  • Bâtir une présence engagée dans les médias sociaux avec Anupreeta et Tomer : Anupreeta et Tomer ont conçu un atelier sur le pouvoir des plateformes en ligne – tel que Twitter et le financement participatif – pour rejoindre un plus grand public et engendrer du soutien pour des causes sociales.
  • La collaboration inter-culturelle avec Stéphanie et Lilit Simonyan (Ancienne Boursière) : Avec l’aide d’un jeu de cartes, cet atelier proposait un scénario où les Boursiers devaient gérer des différences culturelles de manière efficace. L’exercice a suscité une vive discussion sur la gestion d’équipes interculturelles et la communication inter-culturelle.
  • La mobilisation et les campagnes publiques avec Jonathan Sas (Ancien Boursier) et Graham Mitchel (Broadbent Insitute) : Cet atelier a mis l’emphase sur les différentes étapes liées à la création d’une campagne gagnante pour bien promouvoir les causes des Boursiers.

Et des activités amusantes!

  • Une fin de semaine à la campagne, au chalet de Nancy Wright, remplie de longues randonnées, des repas délicieux et des jeux.
  • Les Boursiers ont pratiqué le yoga au courant de la semaine.
  • Les Boursiers ont démontré leurs talents culinaires durant le « cook off », suivis d’une séance de théâtre, à la Maison Sauvé.
  • Les Boursiers ont bien chanté et fêté durant la soirée karaoké.
  • Finalement, la soirée de clôture a été une belle occasion pour célébrer le temps passé entre Boursiers à la Maison Sauvé!

 

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir de l’information sur nos nouvelles et évènements!

Suivez-nous

Suivez-nous

  • Sauve Residents trying out snowshoeing for the first time with one of our first snows =) https://t.co/GrEl8UfQe6
  • Congratulations to Sauve Fellow Thinh Nguyen, who was selected as part of the 2020 cohort of Changemakers for Child…
  • The Foundation and friends were happy to support Stephen De Four Wyre, who was conducting an orchestra at Saint Joh…

“I like being part of a community that continuously strives to bring meaningful change around the globe.” – Sauvé Fellow

Participants

From May 9th-16th, 2015, the second edition of Sauvé Encore! brought together thirteen Fellows representing nine different cohorts and eleven different nationalities. Tomer Avital (Israel, 2008-09), Manish Thapa (Nepal, 2006-07), Saman Ahsan (Pakistan, 2003-04), Siddharth Bannerjee (India, 2007-08), Stéphanie Jensen-Cormier (France, 2011-12), Éloge Butera (Rwanda, 2009-10), Anupreeta Das (India, 2004-05), Guy Milongo (Congo, 2012-13), Pyone Kyaw (Myanmar, 2008-09), Tairah Firdous (India/Kashmir, 2012-13), Janet Jobson (South Africa, 2009-10), Paul Omonge (Kenya, 2011-12) and Yaniv Rivlin (Israel, 2009-10) were actively engaged in a full week of rich programming aimed at further amplifying their impact, leadership skills and community ties. To achieve this, the schedule focused on Sharing Sessions, Leadership Encounters, Panel Discussions, Workshops and Guided Conversations.

Read participant Janet Jobson’s reflection on the week in Creating space for heads and hearts – bringing ourselves into amplifying impact!

Key Successes

  • Fellows appreciated the time and space to engage with each other;
  • There was a good balance between fun activities, reflective sessions and skill-training workshops;
  • Fellows learned a great deal from Alumni–led sessions, which allowed for a lot of interaction between participants.

To see Sauvé Encore! in action, check out our Flickr Photo Albums and Sauvé Encore! Photo Essay.

Program and Presenters

Sharing Sessions: Through a visual exercise, participants mapped their life path before and after the Sauvé program. During a workshop facilitated by Chad Lubelsky of the J.W. Family McConnell Foundation, participants shared their skills, gifts and visions of the world in order to become aware of how to better support each other and start collaborations.

Leadership Encounters were opportunities for Fellows to learn about different leadership paths reflecting on their own experience as leaders. Fellows had two Leadership Encounters with:

– Patrick Brennan, Brett House and Anita Nowak highlighted different cultural practices in mentorship.

– The Honourable Jean Charest reflected on various challenging and empowering experiences from his public leadership journey, he prompted Fellows to consider work/personal balance and to appreciate the value of gender balance in public leadership.

Panel Discussions:

  • Public Leadership for Cultural Diversity (Moderated by Sauvé Fellow Sidd Bannerjee, with guest speakers Nadia Dugay, Pearl Eliadis, Alexandre Trudeau and Vivianne Ducheine from the City of Montreal’s Social Diversity office): Building on the theme chosen by the Foundation for its inaugural Public Leadership Program – Public Leadership for Culturally Diverse Societies – the invited panelists discussed different approaches to understanding and relating to cultural diversity.
  • The State of the World Today: Canada’s Role Tomorrow (with guest speaker Robert Greenhill and Sauvé Fellows Éloge Butera, Saman Ahsan, Sidd Bannerjee and Stéphanie Jensen-Cormier): The panel explored key issues, trends, risks and opportunities confronting today’s world and why Canada should care.
  • Being a Thought Leader (with Antonia Maioni, Tom Axworthy, Liane Benoit, Jonathan Sas and Pyone Kyaw): In this very interactive panel, Fellows were encouraged to think about the ‘big ideas’ driving their work: how can we change the world through bold ideas?

Guided Conversations:

  • Nepal Crisis and Relief Aid: Manish shared his experience responding to the recent Nepal earthquake. Tairah, who was involved in the emergency response to the earthquake with Oxfam India, also shared her observations. The conversation touched upon the challenges of responding to humanitarian crisis and the dynamics involved in international relief aid.
  • Youth Engagement: Bringing perspectives from different countries and regions, Janet, Paul, Gioel and Désirée McGraw guided a conversation on youth engagement. Fellows discussed different regional experience of youth engagement stressing the opportunities and challenges of integrating young people in public leadership.
  • Leadership Development Groups: Throughout the week, Fellows were divided into two leadership development groups. The groups took part in a series of guided activities to share the ups and downs of their leadership path. The groups were designed to create a safe space for reflecting on the broader vision underlining each Fellow’s work.

Fellow-led training sessions included practical skill and knowledge sharing facilitated in an intimate and informal setting:

  • Storytelling with Tairah: Fellows were guided to think about the power of using different voices to tell a story, and practiced telling their own personal stories to reach to different audiences.
  • Building an engaged social media presence with Anupreeta and Tomer: Anupreeeta and Tomer designed a workshop highlighting the power of online tools – such as Twitter and crowdfunding platforms – to reach wider audiences and build support for social causes.
  • Cross Cultural Collaboration with Stéphanie and Lilit Simonyan (Sauvé Alumna): Through a card game, this workshop created a scenario where Fellows had to deal with cultural differences effectively. The simulation sparked a lively discussion on managing intercultural teams and dealing with intercultural communication.
  • Public Campaigns & Advocacy with Jonathan Sas (Sauvé Alumnus) and Graham Mitchel (Broadbent Institute): This session walked Fellows through the different steps of designing a winning campaign to push forward their causes.

For Sauvé Encore! Presenters’ biographies, click here.

And Fun Activities!

  • A weekend in the countryside, at Nancy Wright’s cottage, filled with long walks, delicious meals together and games.
  • Fellows practiced yoga throughout the week.
  • Fellows showed off their culinary skills in a cook off, followed by PlayBack theatre show hosted at Sauvé House.
  • Fellows sang their hearts out during Karaoke night.
  • Finally, the closing dinner was a space to celebrate Fellows’ time together at Sauvé House!

Sign up to our mailing list to receive news and information about upcoming events

Follow us

b-instagram-180

Facebook

Follow Us

  • Our #SauveEncore program has begun. Fellows from different cohorts connect and reflect as a community in the next t…
  • The 2015-17 Fellows were happy to hear previous Fellow @adamdaif share some words of wisdom about Lobbying, Public…
  • Thank you, Raye Kass & Colin Robertson of @Concordia for facilitating the session on Team Dynamics w/ our 2015-17…