The Jeanne Sauvé Foundation was established in 1989 by the Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé, former Governor General of Canada, as her legacy to the youth of the world.

Her intention was to create an incubator for leadership through a permanent forum that would offer exceptional young people the opportunity to come together to discuss and address the major global issues of the day. See History of the Jeanne Sauvé Foundation for more details.

The Jeanne Sauvé Foundation was established, under the direction of Jean-François Sauvé, son of the late Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé, to implement its mission to develop the leadership potential of promising youth from around the world. From 2003-2013, the Foundation sponsored the Sauvé Scholars Program, which each year invited up to 14 outstanding young leaders from Canada and around the world for a period of personal and professional development in a collegial, residential environment.

The Sauvé Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors that establishes and oversees the implementation of the overall strategic direction of the Foundation; ensures that policies and practices adhere to the vision of Mme Sauvé; and ensures the core values and guiding principles inherent in her vision are consistently applied to every aspect of the work of the Foundation in an evolving global context. The Board oversees the administration of programming as well as reviews and supports initiatives proposed by the staff and stakeholders. Directors participate in various Board committees, including the one that selects program participants.

Sauvé Foundation Board of Directors:

Senior Advisors:

Senior Fellows:

  • Patrick Brennan
  • Brett House
  • Guillaume Lavoie
  • Carolyn Loutfi
  • Sabrina Sassi

Honorary Chairs: